Trophies - Rapid Championship

© New Zealand Chess Federation Inc 2020

New Zealand Women's Championship

The Mabel Abbott Trophy used to be awarded to the winner of the New Zealand Women's Championship. Sadly, we don't have a photograph of this trophy.

Women's Champions

The table below lists all New Zealand Women's Champions.

1938M E Abbott
1940E L Short
1967M McGrath
1978F Foster, W Stretch
1980F Foster
1981J Sievey
1982V Burndred
1983K Metge
1985J Sievey
1991R Foster
1992-93V Smith, F Foster
1994V Smith
1995V Smith
1996W Ong
1997R L Sheehan
1998Vivian Smith
1999Vivian Smith
2000Vivian Smith
2001E Mikhailik
2002Edith Otene, Vivian Smith
2003Vivian Smith
2004Vivian Smith
2005E Charomova
2006Sue Maroroa
2007Shirley Wu, Judy Gao
2008Natasha Fairley, Judy Gao, Helen Milligan
2009Judy Gao
2010Shirley Wu